About Darksun

DarkSun was formed in 2002 in Asturias, Spain by current members guitarist Tino Hevia, vocalist (and former guitarist) Daniel Gonzalez, and drummer Daniel Cabal. With songwriting  influenced by HELLOWEEN , BLIND GUARDIAN, and STRATOVARIUS, DarkSun went to VPS Studios in Germany to record their debut album, El Legado. Produced by Ingo Cjavkoski (RAGE), and mixed at House of Music Studios by Achim Köhler (PRIMAL FEAR, BRAINSTORM), El Legado was released in July 2004.

Their next album, El Lado Oscuro (2005) was also recorded in Germany, with Ingo Cjavkoski again producing, and Dennis Ward (ANGRA, ADAGIO) mixing. Peavy Wagner (RAGE) performed guest vocals on the song “Prisoners of Fate.” Returning the favor, the band collaborated on RAGE’s album Speak of the Dead with a Spanish version of the song “Full Moon” entitled “La Luna Reine,” which appeared as a bonus track.

Starting with DarkSun’s third album, Libera Me, production has been handled by lead vocalist Daniel González. David Figueiras also joined at this time on lead guitars, leaving Dani to concentrate on vocal duties.

In 2010, the band released Tocar El Sol, and in 2012 the album Memento Mori. Now in 2016, DarkSun release their magnum opus, The Chronicles Of Aravan, the English language version of Cronicas De Aravan, released earlier this year in their native Spain. It tells the story of Aravan, a warrior who returns from a battle to see his village burned down and everyone killed. He then goes on a quest for revenge against those who murdered his people and destroyed his home.

Beginning with “The Battle” and ending with “My Last Sunrise,” this epic tale is filled with never-ending musical twists & turns, featuring the stellar work of guitarists Tino Hevia and David Figueiras, and excellent vocals of Daniel Gonzalez. Highlights include “The Battle”, “Dragon Heart”, “The Legacy” & “For The Gods”. The last 2 songs are not part of the “Aravan” tale, but are “bonus tracks” showcasing the vocal talents of Ralf Scheepers (PRIMAL FEAR) on “Fragile” and Peavy Wagner (RAGE) on “Broken Dreams.”

  • Dani G. – Vocalist
  • Tino Hevia – Rythm guitar
  • David Figuer – Solo guitar
  • Adrián Huelga – Bass
  • Dani Cabal – Drums